DWI ARREST IN TEXAS
EXPERIENCED ATTORNEYS FOR DWI ARREST IN TEXAS
In State of Texas, authorities and law enforcements take drunk driving or DWI offenses very seriously. With the increasing number of accidents involving drunk drivers on Texas roads, the law enforcement officers across the state are determined to crack down on drunk drivers. With the complications involved in the state law regarding DWI offenses, having the representation of an experienced legal professional is extremely important. Having an experienced criminal defense attorney representing you for your drunk driving charge guarantees the protection of your rights and representation of your rights inside and outside the court.
A DWI conviction in Texas comes with harsh penalties, and you need the help of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to strongly represent you for your drunk driving charge. Our team of experienced Dallas drunk driving defense attorneys have been helping clients since 2000 in Dallas, Collin, Tarrant, and Denton counties of Texas. With a combined experience of more than 45 years, our criminal defense attorneys are your ideal choice for defending you drunk driving (DWI) charge.
DRUNK DRIVING ARREST IN TEXAS
According to Texas Penal Code, you are legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with a DWI charge, if:
- Your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08 grams of alcohol per 100 ml of blood or higher.
- You are impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of Blood Alcohol Content (BAC).
If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer, be ready to show your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and vehicle registration. If you refuse to take a blood or breath test, there is an automatic suspension of your driver’s license for 180 days.
When you are arrested for drunk driving (DWI) in Texas, you face two different cases against you. The first is a criminal charge resulting in your DWI arrest, and the second is a civil proceeding against your driving privileges, knows as an Administrative License Revocation or ALR. An ALR suspension is initiated against you, if you refuse to take breadth or blood test when stopped by a law enforcement officer, or you fail a breadth or blood test. The ALR suspension is a part of Texas Implied Consent Statute, which states that every person driving on Texas roadways has implicitly consented to provide a specimen of breadth or blood if arrested for drunk driving.
TEXAS DWI PENALTIES
For your first drunk driving conviction, you can get serious punishments involving jail time and fines. The severity of penalties for a drunk driving charge, does not depend on your prior criminal record. For your first drunk driving conviction in Texas, you can get somewhere between 3 to 180 days in jail; up to $2,000 in fines; 90-365 day suspension of driver’s license; mandatory community service; possible probation; and attending the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Victim Impact Panel. If you have multiple drunk driving convictions on your record, you could get harsher penalties and fines. Similarly, if you are caught driving with a BAC over 0.15 percent, you will be prosecuted for a Class A misdemeanor instead of a Class B, even if this DWI charge was your first criminal charge.
A DWI in Texas is a serious charge that brings penalties and implications on a person’s personal life, work, finances, and future. It is extremely important to take a DWI charge seriously, with a strong defense strategy to protect your rights and freedom. It is always recommended to attain the services of a dedicated criminal defense attorney with experience of DWI cases. When you hire a lawyer who has represented clients in your area for their first, second, third, or more driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, you get the help of a professional who is familiar with the court system, State laws, and polices of local/State law enforcement authorities. With this experience, your attorney can prepare a strong defense for your drunk driving charge.
WHAT SHOULD YOU DO AFTER A DWI ARREST IN TEXAS?
After being charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrest in Texas, the first step that you should take is to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you. A DWI charge does not mean that you will be convicted and will lose your driver’s license. With the help of a lawyer for DWI defense, a strong defense for your case can be established to protect your rights and freedom. As one of the most experienced legal teams of Dallas DWI defense lawyers, we have helped clients in different counties of Texas for their driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges. With a combined experience of more than 45 years, our attorneys have the knowledge and expertise to represent clients for all kinds of criminal defense cases including first, second, or multiple drunk driving (DWI) charges. If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Dallas Fort-Worth area, we are here to help you.
You can schedule a FREE CONSULTATION with a member of our criminal defense team by calling 972.789.1664, emailing firstname.lastname@example.org, or filing out the form on top of this page. We accept all major credit cards and offer convenient installment plans. We look forward to providing you a dedicated legal service.