M&A Law Firm - Dallas DWI Attorneys
24/7 - FREE CONSULTATION | 972.789.1664

DWI OFFENSES IN TEXAS

DALLAS ATTORNEYS FOR DWI DEFENSE

When it comes to DWI offenses, State of Texas takes these charges very seriously and prosecute them vigorously. It does not matter if it is your first DWI offense or an offense with prior offenses, your will be prosecuted aggressively. According to Texas laws, a first DWI can get you up to $2,000 of fine, but for third DWI offense it can go all the way up to $10,000. Similarly, if you are facing your first DWI offense, you can get somewhere from 72 hours to 180 days in jail, and if it is your second DWI offense, you can get somewhere between 30 days to 1 year in jail. To make sure that you get an aggressive representation for your driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense, you should have the representation of a knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense attorney.

FIRST DWI OFFENSE

FINES AND JAIL TIME - For your first Driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense, you can get:

 

PUTTING YOU ON PROBATION - After your first DWI offense, there is a high probability that you will not serve any jail time. Most first DWI offenders are put on a probation.

 

PROBATION TIME - This is technically a jail sentence, but you are allowed to live in your home with subject to some rules. Normally the probation time is 1 to 2 years. When a judge puts you on probation, he or she will give you a list of rules, called “Conditions of Probation,” to follow.

 

CANCELLATION OF PROBATION – If you do not follow the conditions of probation, the judge has the option to cancel your probation, and put you in jail for any number of days up to the original jail sentence you received.

 

CONDITION OF PROBATION – Normally, a judge can order any reasonable condition on your probation. A typical list of conditions of probation includes:

 

SECOND DWI OFFENSE

FINE AND JAIL TIME – If you are convicted for a second driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense in Texas, you can get:

 

PUTTING YOU ON PROBATION – For your second driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction in Texas, you are eligible for probation, but your chances will be really low.

 

PUTTING TIME – For a second DWI conviction, you may get a probation time of 2 years.

 

CONDITIONS OF PROBATION – The conditions of probation for a second DWI offense are more demanding, as compare to a first DWI offense. These conditions include:

 

THIRD DWI OFFENSE

FINE AND JAIL TIME – A third DWI offense in Texas is prosecuted as a felony. If you are convicted of a third driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge, according to Texas laws you can:

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR PROBATION – In certain situations of a third DWI offense, you are eligible for probation. According to the Texas DWI laws, you are eligible for a term of 2 to 10 years. The court will consider these factors before deciding, if you are eligible for a probation:

 

SHOCK PROBATION – According to the Texas DWI laws, shock probation is when you are actually sentenced and sent to the penitentiary. The court can take you out of prison, and put you on probation, at any time prior to 180 days from the date of being sentenced to prison. This is normally referred to as shock probation. To qualify for “shock probation,” you have to be eligible for probation and never been to prison. Once you satisfy the eligibility for probation, the court will decide your punishment.

 

INTOXICATED ASSAULT - THIRD DEGREE FELONY

When a person is guilty of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) and cause serious bodily injuries to another person, they face an intoxicated assault charge. Serious bodily injury is defined as an injury creating a substantial risk of death or that causes serious permanent disfigurement or extended loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.

 

FINE AND JAIL TIME – If you are convicted of an intoxicated assault, then according to Texas laws:

 

PROBATION – In some intoxicated assault cases you can get probation. The possibility of probation depends on severity of the injuries of the people involved in the accident and your prior record.

 

CONDITIONS FOR PROBATION – When you are charged with an intoxicated assault, there are some conditions required to get probation. These condition include:

NOTE: These above conditions are in addition to the ones for the DWI charge.

 

INTOXICATED MANSLAUGHTER - THIRD DEGREE FELONY

According to Texas laws, an intoxicated manslaughter charge is placed against you if your intoxication caused the death of another person.

 

FINE AND JAIL TIME – If you are convicted of an intoxicated manslaughter, then according to Texas DWI laws:

 

PROBATION – It is possible to get probation in intoxicated assault cases, but normally it is very difficult to get one. In order to receive probation, the family of the victim usually has to agree to the deal.

 

CONDITIONS OF PROBATION – If you receive probation for an intoxicated manslaughter charge, you will have to abide by the following conditions:

NOTE: These conditions are in addition to the ones for the intoxicated assault charge.

ATTORNEYS ARE AVAILABLE FOR FREE CONSULTATION

If you are facing a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge in Dallas Fort-Worth area, you need the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney to aggressively represent you to make sure that your rights are protected and you get the chance to keep your freedom. With a combined experience of more than 45 years, our Dallas attorneys for DWI defense have represented clients in counties of Dallas, Collin, Tarrant, and Denton. If you or a loved one is looking for an experienced team of attorneys to represent you for your first, second, third, or more driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses, we are here to help you. Our experienced, knowledgeable, and dedicated attorneys and courteous staff is here to help you in these tough times that you are facing after a DWI arrest.

 

You can schedule a FREE CONSULTATION by calling 972.789.1664, emailing contact@dallasarealaw.com, or filling out the form on top of this page. We offer convenient installment plans and accept all major credit cards.